Information Assets

In the QSEC module “Information Assets” the information assets (business processes, information and the supporting assets) are managed. These are divided in QSEC®, according to the required procedure of ISO 27005 (risk management in information security), into

  • Physical values
  • Personnel
  • Services incl. Cloud

The aim is to obtain the most exact picture of the assets of an organization(s) in the selected scope. The assets identified as critical are subject to a detailed consideration in risk management, the less critical assets can be subject to a basic examination based on predefined elementary hazards.

The possibility of recording assets within the asset groups is intended for organizations that cannot use an asset management system (ITAM) due to technical circumstances or for which the effort is too big. This option can be used, for example, for production environments, control systems and technical environments with few assets.

 

Presentation-of-Assetgroup-Map

QSEC® – Map of asset group

Features (extract):

  • Modeling of the complete company structure:
    • Business units,
    • Business processes,
    • Information,
  • Assets (individual assets and asset groups)
  • Entry of the asset groups with the specification of the responsible person and the specification of the asset group type for the assignment of the risk catalogue
  • Entry of BIA-relevant data (RTO actual/RPO actual) planned
  • Hierarchical asset group display for a clear structure view
  • Tabular asset group listing for a clear editing view
  • Map asset group view for a clear overall context
  • Within the asset groups, the assets (individual assets: notebooks, production systems, network components, etc.) can be managed manually using the “management criteria” (e.g. manufacturer, serial number, location, etc.): Assignment of business processes and information on the asset groups;
  • Inheritance of business process and information criticality assessments for the protection needs analysis of asset groups in risk assessment (the asset groups covered are assessed in risk management);
  • The security levels are evaluated completely for each asset group for all assets;
  • Form customization: For a better overview, the complex forms are divided into tabs!

QSEC modules

Data-Protection-Management-System-QSECInformation_AssetsCompliance_Management_System
IT-Risk-kachelSecurity Incident ManagementMeasure-Management
Document-ManagementMaster-Data-qsecBusiness_Continuity_Management
Reporting-DashboardInterview-WizardInterview-transfer-Wizard
Compliance-WizardRisk-Assessment-WizardSecurity-Level-Wizard
Measure-Evaluation-WizardUsabilityTask-Manager
AdministrationTechnology

Information Assets

Im QSEC Modul „Information Assets“ werden die Information Assets (Geschäftsprozesse, Informationen und die unterstützenden Assets verwaltet. Diese gliedern sich in QSEC®, nach der geforderten Vorgehensweise der ISO 27005 (Risikomanagement in der Informationssicherheit), in

  • Physische Werte
  • Personal
  • Dienstleistungen inkl. Cloud

Ziel ist ein möglichst präzises Abbild der Assets einer/der Organisation(en) im ausgewählten Untersuchungsbereich (Scope). Die als kritisch identifizierten Assets werden einer detaillierten Betrachtung im Risikomanagement unterzogen, die weniger kritischen Assets können einer Basisbetrachtung unterzogen werden, die auf den eingestellten Elementargefährdungen basiert.

Die Möglichkeit der Erfassung von Assets innerhalb der Asset Gruppen ist für Organisationen vorgesehen, die aufgrund von technischen Gegebenheiten kein Asset-Management-System (ITAM) verwenden können oder für die der Aufwand zu groß ist. Diese Möglichkeit kann z.B. für Produktionsumgebungen, Steuerungssysteme und technischen Umgebungen mit wenigen Assets genutzt werden.

 

QSEC® – Darstellung der Asset-Gruppen-Map

Features (Auszug):

  • Modellierung der kompletten Unternehmensstruktur:
    • Geschäftseinheiten,
    • Geschäftsprozesse,
    • Informationen,
  • Assets (Einzel-Assets und Asset Gruppen)
  • Erfassung der Asset Gruppen mit der Angabe des Verantwortlichen und der Angabe des Asset-Gruppentyps für die Zuordnung des Risikokatalogs
  • Erfassung von BIA-relevante Angaben (RTO-Ist/RPO-Ist) vorgesehen
  • Hierarchische Asset-Gruppendarstellung für eine übersichtliche Strukturansicht
  • Tabellarische Asset-Gruppenauflistung für eine übersichtliche Bearbeitungsansicht
  • Map-Asset-Gruppenansicht für eine übersichtliche Gesamtzusammenhangsansicht
  • Innerhalb der Asset Gruppen können die Assets (Einzel-Assets: Notebooks, Produktionssysteme, Netzkomponenten etc.) mit den „Verwaltungskriterien“ (z. B. Hersteller, Seriennummer, Standort etc.) manuell verwaltet werden: Zuordnung der Geschäftsprozesse und Informationen zu den Asset Gruppen;
  • Vererbung der Geschäftsprozess- und Informations-Kritikalitätsbewertungen für die Schutzbedarfsanalyse der Asset Gruppen im Risikobewertung (die erfassten Asset Gruppen werden im Risikomanagement bewertet);
  • Die Security-Level werden je Asset-Gruppe komplett für alle Assets bewertet;
  • Formularanpassung: Zur besseren Übersicht werden die komplexen Formulare in Tabs eingeteilt!